Technion’s logo unveiled

The Technion logo as it is known today, first appeared officially on an Israel postage stamp issued in 1956. The stamp was issued to celebrate the thirtieth anniversary of the Technion opening its first class in 1924. The Technion logo was apparently chosen as part of a competition. On June 1, 1951, the Technion Symbol Committee announced a “competition” and invited proposals for a symbol for the Technion. More than twenty proposals were presented to the committee by architects, engineers, artists, tailors, and ordinary people. The Technion Symbol Committee included the Technion’s director at the time, Yaakov Dori, Prof. Y. Ratner, Arch. M. Vinerov, D. Laskov, and a representative of the Technion alumni organization.

On July 25, 1951, the committee determined that proposal No. 14 submitted by A. Mordechai Ruben was the winner of the competition. The committee conditioned the award on improving Ruben’s proposal according to the jury’s requirement. For this achievement, Mr. Mordechai received 75 liras. Although there is no example or sketch of Ruben’s proposal in the Technion archives, the highest probability is that the symbol that appears on the Israel Postal Authority stamp in 1956 – the symbol on which the current Technion logo is based – is indeed that submitted in proposal #14 in the June 1951 competition.

Scroll to Top